Zorro, the dog who only knows love

When you hear the name Zorro, you are immediately reminded of Zorro from the movie  The Mark Of Zorro. It is one of the classics that was made in 1940 and is a story of a brave vigilante. Zorro, is a dachshund and is not like the Zorro in the movie. He belongs to one of my friends. This post is about my experience when I met him for the first time.

This dog, Zorro, has a personality to love and adore. During the first few minutes of our encounter he was growling. But as soon as he got his favorite treat from me, he was all about being affectionate.

He jumped up and looked into my eyes with the sweetest expression on his face. It was as if I was his best friend, with whom he was looking forward to spend his playtime. Would you like to know what happened that day?

Here was Zorro looking at me with lovely imploring eyes. So, I pick him up! Now, I was holding a dog for the first time. Yes, I was! Imagine! I didn’t know as to how I should be hold him in a position that was comfortable for him. On top of it, he started to wiggle! And… I dropped him!

Yes. You heard that right! At that moment, I felt that it was the loudest sound that I had heard and froze! It was as as if time stood still  and my heart with it.

I ran to look for my friend. She saw my face and knew that something was wrong. She started following me. However, when I came back with her, Zorro stood there as if nothing had happened, giving us a confused expression. It was as if he was asking us ‘What’s wrong with you girls? What’s the fuss about?’  My friend just looked at the two of us with a questioning look on he face.

At that moment, I realized that Zorro and me shared our little secret. I said a silent thank you to him for being okay and petted him till he rolled on the floor.

Later that evening, my friend and I sat around the dining table, to work on our group project. Like a true gentleman, Zorro sat around quietly for a while. Then suddenly, he couldn’t help himself and started poking around. Somehow, he climbed up on my chair. No, not in my lap as you would imagine. But… behind me, as if he was a cushion! My personal cushion.

How royal I felt! Like a queen.

Alas! He soon did the same thing for my friend. Then moved onto my friend’s mother, who was sitting on the sofa, reading. I felt cheated, but only for a second. After all, only I knew how forgiving this really lovable dog was. And that was our little secret!

Dogs are indeed man’s best friends. But Zorro was mine!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Protected by Copyscape

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarvesh Rai says:

    Loved reading it. a truly moving account .

    Like

  2. Smriti Rai says:

    I liked it. Keep ✍️

    Like

  3. zorrob4 says:

    I love it. I am sure Zorro would too!!! I will give him a big hug for you. great job.

    Like

  4. Chiranjeevi P says:

    Good Read

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.